“Smitty’s Scholars” – Annual Scholarship Program

2015 “Smitty’s Scholars” Scholarship Recipients

In partnership with the Exchange Club of Lake Highlands, we awarded $10,000 in scholarships to five Lake Highlands High School (Dallas, Texas) seniors.  These students were announced on Friday, May 15th at the ECLH Scholarship Breakfast at Lake Highlands United Methodist Church.  Please join us in congratulating this year’s Smitty’s Scholars and wish them the best of luck as they move forward to the next step in their education!

Kayla Banks $1,250
Mary Estrera $2,500
Diana Monyancha $1,250
Katie Norris $2,500
Abighail Seghid $2,500

2015 Smitty's Scholars












2014 “Smitty’s Scholars” Scholarship Recipients

Through the Wade Smith Foundation Smitty’s Scholars Scholarship program, we are blessed to be able to award scholarships to outstanding seniors from the Houston Independent School District and Lake Highlands High School (Dallas, Texas). These deserving students have proven themselves to be dedicated leaders, not only to their schoolwork but to their community as well. Below is a list of our 2014 Smitty’s Scholars scholarship recipients.

Houston ISD:
Derek Mayon (Lamar High School) – $2,500
Oumayma El Hamzaoui (Waltrip High School) – $2,500
Fryda Gonzalez (Lamar High School) – $1,000
Shahnaz Azeez (Barbara Jordan High School) – $1,000
Yesenia Mondragon (Waltrip High School) – $1,000
Jacqueline Roman (Lamar High School) – $1,000
Genesis Larin (Lamar High School) – $1,000

Lake Highlands High School:
Lauren West – $2,500
Kenya Mosley – $2,500
Morgan Dishman – $1,000
Kelly Henry – $1,000
Abby Harris – $1,000
Katherine Sutton – $1,000
Shane Bono – $1,000

Congratulations to all of our winners!  We wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors.











2013 “Smitty’s Scholars” Scholarship Recipients

The following seniors from the Class of 2013 (in Houston ISD and at Lake Highlands High School) have displayed both a dedication to their education and communities, and are the recipients of the #SmittysScholars Annual Scholarships toward their college expenses. We wish them well as they endeavor to go further in their education.

Amber Barrow (Westside High School – Houston, TX)
Annie Truong (Sharpstown International School – Houston, TX)
Deisy Rodriguez (Westside High School – Houston, TX)
Jasmine King (Westside High School – Houston, TX)
Jennifer Gutierrez (M.B. Lamar Sr. High School – Houston, TX)
Joahnna Langlois (Westbury High School – Houston, TX)
Lucina Garcia (Lake Highlands High School – Dallas, TX)
Akhrysta Anderson (Lake Highlands High School – Dallas, TX)
Laura Leigh Oualline (Lake Highlands High School – Dallas, TX)
Hunter Stephan (Lake Highlands High School – Dallas, TX)